All Hyundai Models to Feature Six Airbags as Standard in India

South Korean auto giant, Hyundai, has made a significant announcement aimed at bolstering vehicle safety across its entire model lineup in India.

Hyundai Pledges Enhanced Safety

- Advertisement -

In a groundbreaking move, Hyundai India has declared that all its vehicle models will now come standard with six airbags, strengthening safety measures across the board.

In addition to this, three-point seatbelts and seatbelt reminders will also become standard features across all variants.

- Advertisement -

Electronic Stability Control and Hill Start Assist Now Standard

Furthering its commitment to safety, Hyundai will equip 10 out of 13 of its models with Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and Hill Start Assist Control (HAC) as standard features, regardless of model or variant. This initiative aims to enhance vehicle stability and reduce accidents.

- Advertisement -

Advanced Driver Aids System (ADAS)

Hyundai also revealed its intention to offer Advanced Driver Aids Systems (ADAS) in five of its models, providing drivers with advanced safety technology for an even more secure driving experience.

- Advertisement -

Hyundai Verna Earns Five-Star Safety Rating

In a testament to Hyundai’s dedication to safety, the company’s latest release, the Hyundai Verna, recently achieved an impressive five-star safety rating in the Global NCAP crash test, solidifying its status as a safe and reliable choice for Indian consumers.


CEO Unsoo Kim’s Commitment

Unsoo Kim, Managing Director and CEO of Hyundai India, stated, “Hyundai’s efforts will continue to increase the safety standards of vehicles in the country. This will make the country’s roads safe for everyone.”


Bharat NCAP: A Step Toward Safer Roads

Hyundai also welcomed the Bharat NCAP crash test program, a crucial initiative that recently commenced in India.

- Advertisement -

The company announced the initial inclusion of three of its models in this program, reinforcing its commitment to vehicle safety.

Enhanced Safety Standards

The Bharat NCAP program has raised safety standards for motor vehicles up to 3.5 tonnes, with the aim of making it easier for car buyers to assess crash safety in the automobile market.

- Advertisement -

Under this program, car manufacturers can voluntarily test their vehicles, with star ratings assigned based on their performance in crash tests.

This system empowers customers to make informed decisions by comparing safety standards across different vehicles.

Rising Demand for Safer Cars

With the implementation of new safety regulations, there is a growing demand for safer vehicles in India.

This is expected to encourage car manufacturers to adhere to Bharat NCAP guidelines for producing safer cars.

The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways hopes that, with higher safety standards, the demand for domestically manufactured cars will also surge in the international market.

Six Airbags Becoming Standard

While the addition of four more airbags will increase manufacturing costs, it aligns with the trend seen in many countries where the rule of six airbags in passenger vehicles is already in force. In India, two airbags are currently mandatory for passenger cars.

Hyundai’s proactive approach to safety is a significant step toward making Indian roads safer for all, and it sets a high standard for the automobile industry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More Articles